Skip to main content

Privacy and Security Practices for Teleconferencing

Modified on: Thu, Jun 25, 2020 at 12:50 PM


Video conferencing tools feature a variety of security controls to ensure sensitive information stays secure. Follow these recommendations to ensure you are teleconferencing in a safe and secure environment.

If you are interested in hosting a video conference with a large audience, please contact Information Systems to request a webinar license and multimedia specialist to help organize and host your meeting.

Encryption

All our meeting solutions carry encrypted connections for your meetings. When you’re logged in, your data is encrypted.

View the individual encryption statements from our three vendors: 

FERPA Compliance

View the individual FERPA compliance statements from our 3 vendors:

HIPAA Compliance

If your meeting must be HIPAA compliant, you will need to reach out to help@wfu.edu for a unique Webex site.

Recommended Security Settings for Webex

Limit meeting attendees to @wfu.edu accounts only

Limiting attendees to @wfu.edu accounts ensures that only Wake Forest faculty, staff, and students can join your meeting. Note this feature excludes guest accounts since guest accounts do not have access to Webex.

  • From Classic View, select Webex Meetings, Schedule a Meeting, go to Advanced Scheduler, Under Invite Attendees, select Require attendees to have an account on this site in order to join this meeting

  • From Modern View, select Schedule to schedule a new meeting. Select Show Advanced Options, select Scheduling Options, and click Require attendees to have an account on this site in order to join this meeting.

Lock your Personal Room - Enable a Virtual Waiting Room

Locking your room is an easy way to prevent uninvited people from joining your meeting. If you don't lock your meeting, anyone who has the meeting link can join it. Locking your personal room allows for people to wait in a virtual waiting room. You can then choose who to let in when.

  • If you are currently in a meeting and need to lock your room because the conversation changes, go to More options in the meeting controls, and choose Lock Meeting.
  • To lock your meetings prior to scheduling them, go to webex.wfu.edu and log in. Go to My Webex > Preferences > My Personal Room > Automatic lock. (From Modern View, go to Preferences > My Personal Room > Automatic lock).

View this help article to learn more about how to let someone into your Webex Personal Room.

Remove a Participant from a Meeting

You are able to expel participants from your meeting if they prove to be disruptive. 

  • If you need to expel a participant, select the name of the participant whom you want to remove. Select Participant > Expel

Recommended Security Settings for Zoom

We encourage meeting hosts to utilize the Security Toolbar option when in meetings. Selecting that icon will give hosts the ability to quickly lock the meeting, enable a Waiting Room, and allow participants to screen share, chat, and rename themselves. Learn more about in-meeting security options


Limit attendees to @wfu.edu accounts only

Limiting attendees to @wfu.edu accounts ensures that only Wake Forest colleagues and peers can join your meeting. View this document to set this option on an individual meeting basis.

 

Remove a Participant from a Meeting

Whether your room is locked or not, you are able to expel participants from your meeting if they prove to be disruptive. 

  • If you need to expel a participant, click Participants at the bottom of your Zoom window, and mouse over a participant’s name to show several options. Click Remove. Click Lock Meeting and the participant will be unable to get back into the meeting.

Schedule Meetings using One-Time Meeting IDs

It is highly recommended to use One-Time Meeting IDs instead of your Personal Meeting ID when scheduling meetings for enhanced security. One-Time Meeting IDs create a unique meeting ID for each meeting scheduled, rather than your Personal Meeting ID, which is the same 9 digits. 

Secure Entrance to your Meeting

Locking your room is an easy way to prevent uninvited people from joining your meeting. If you don't lock your meeting, anyone who has the meeting link can join it. Note that this would block entry to anyone trying to join late, or rejoin if they get disconnected. 

  • If you are currently in a meeting and need to lock your room because the conversation changes, click Participants at the bottom of your Zoom window. In the participant’s pop-up box, you will see a button that says Lock Meeting. When you lock the meeting, no new participants can join, even if they have the meeting ID and password.
  • If you need a private moment, you can put attendees on-hold. The attendee’s video and audio connections will be disabled momentarily. Click on the attendee’s video thumbnail and select Start Attendee On-Hold to activate this feature.

Waiting rooms allow meeting hosts to control when participants can join the meeting. You can enter participants in one at a time or allow everyone in your waiting room to join the meeting when you are ready.

Tip for Faculty! Creating a waiting room for your students and personalizing the message they see when they follow your link, assures your students that they’re in the right spot. This personalized message is a great place to post the class name, your name, and any rules/guidelines for your class.

Set a Meeting Password

All Zoom meetings have passwords enabled by default.  



Was this answer helpful? Yes No

Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.