How can I email my class?
To email your class, you can simply type the class name in the "To:" field of the WFU Google Mail compose email window (e.g. PHY-113 or General Physics) and select the email address (e.g. PHY-113-B-FAemail@example.com) corresponding to your class. The students enrolled in your class will receive the email. As students add or drop classes they will be automatically added or removed as recipients for messages sent to the class email address. You can also use the class email address to share Google drive files and folders with your class as well as share Google calendars or invite the entire class to an event.
When a student adds/drops a class, how long does it take for the student to be automatically added/removed to/from the group?
Up to 12 hours.
How can I see a list of all the groups I am a member of?
- Sign in to WFU Google Mail (http://google.wfu.edu)
- Choose App launcher
- Select Groups
- Select "My groups"
Will the group email address appear in the autocomplete function when I compose an email?
Yes. The email address of a Google group created in our G Suite domain will appear in the autocomplete function. However, Google groups corresponding to classes taught in the past will not show up in the autocomplete function. Only current semester classes will show up in the autocomplete function.
Will my group be deleted when the semester is over?
No. The group will continue to exist until it no longer has any student members (i.e. students have graduated and no longer have an active WFU account)
I shared a Google Drive folder/file with my group email address. How can the students that added my class at a later time access this folder/file?
The students that added your class after you initially shared the folder must obtain the link to the shared folder. You can send the link via email to your class.
- Visit https://drive.google.com
- Locate the shared folder/file
- Right-click on the shared folder/file
- Select “Share…”
- Select “Advanced”
- Copy the link under “Link to share”
- Send the link via email to your class
I created and shared a new Google calendar with my group email address. How can the students that added my class at a later time access this calendar?
- Please follow the Google knowledge article located here.
Can I add a teaching assistant or another instructor to the group?
No. Any manual modifications to group membership will be overwritten the next time the class roster is synced.